Player of the Year Kevin Taylor and captain Paul Hunt head up quartet to re-sign for Cobh Ramblers

Mon, Dec 10 2018

Kevin Hurley (right) vies for possession with Eoin McCormack of Galway United during a 2018 First Division clash. Credit: Steve Alfred (ETPhotos)

Cobh Ramblers have started building their 2019 squad with the recent announcement of four signings.

Paul Hunt, Kevin Taylor, Ben O’Riordan and Matthew Lambe have all re-signed with Stephen Henderson’s side.

Club captain Hunt signs for what will be his fourth season with the club, after previously spending five seasons with Longford Town.

Hunt quickly established himself as Cobh’s first choice, playing every minute of their First Division campaign in 2016, including the play-offs as they lost 3-2 on aggregate to Drogheda United.

Taylor first signed for Cobh midway through the 2017 season from Cork City, where he had played with their under-19 side.

The full-back made seven appearances in 2017 for Cobh, with his debut coming in a 2-0 win away to Cobh Ramblers soon after.

Taylor re-signed for the 2018 season and was named the club’s Young Player and Senior Player of the Year.

Ben O’Riordan came through Cobh Ramblers underage system and was added to their first team squad ahead of the 2016 First Division season.

He made his senior debut in the FAI Cup against Cherry Orchard and his league debut a week later against Waterford United.

He went on to make 17 appearances for Cobh in the league and FAI Cup that season, and now re-signs, heading into his fourth season with the first team.

Matthew Lambe, Cork’s fourth signing of the season, came through the under-17 and under-19 sides at St Colman’s Park, before being promoted to the first team in 2018.