Website -

Team Profile

Nickname:The Town

Ground: Athlone Town Stadium

Capacity: 6000

Phone: 090 6486427

Athlone Town,
Co. Westmeath

Athlone Town F.C. was founded in 1887 and is the oldest Association football club in Ireland. They were first elected to the League of Ireland in 1922 when they finished sixth of twelve, and won their first major trophy when they won the 1924 FAI Cup, beating Cork side Fordsons in the final.

Athlone spent six seasons in the League before being replaced by Drumcondra at the end of the 1927/28 season, next entering League of Ireland competition in 1969. They won their first League title in !980/81, repeating the feat two years later.

Athlone played their home games at St Mel's Park up until the end of the 2006 season, and moved into their new home at Lissywoollen at the start of the 2007 season.

League Champions:Twice
1980-81, 1982/83

First Division Champions: Twice
1987/88, 2013.

FAI Cup Winners: Once

League Cup Winners: Three times
1979/80, 1981/82, 1982/83

Team headshots are courtesy of Ashley Cahill of AC Sports Images

Squad Breakdown

If you spot incorrect info, email

Darcy Lawless Ireland Goalkeeper
Sean O'Toole Ireland Goalkeeper
Michael Fogarty Ireland Goalkeeper
Joseph Offorjama Ireland Defender
Craig Shortt Ireland Defender
Aaron Brilly Ireland Defender
Victor Ekanem Nigeria Defender
Kevin Fitzgerald Ireland Defender
Nathan Doyle Ireland Defender
Jamie Broderick Ireland Defender
Daniel O'Donovan Ireland Defender
Robert O'Leary Ireland Defender
Baba Issaka Ghana	 Defender
Ciaran Burns Ireland Midfield
Patrick Kelly Ireland Midfield
Ciaran Grogan Ireland Midfield
Josh Hogan Ireland Midfield
Kyle Hogan Ireland Midfield
Ger Smyth Ireland Midfield
Joe Carmody Ireland Midfield
Toyeeb Mustapha Ireland Midfield
Shane Stokes Ireland Midfield
Bashmil Nyakambili Ireland Midfield
Jake O'Connor Ireland Midfield
Ian Fletcher Ireland Midfield
Steven Grogan Ireland Midfield
Luke Kelly Ireland Midfield
Craig Canty Ireland Midfield
Ollie Hamzat Ireland Midfield
Etanda Nkololo France Forward
Aaron Williams Ireland Forward
Ryan Gaffey Ireland Forward
George Mukete Ireland Forward
Reginald John Ireland Forward
Sodiq Oguntola Nigeria Forward
Brian Cabraley Ireland Unknown
Nika Kalandarishvili Unknown Unknown
Rory McCullough Ireland Unknown