Website -

Team Profile

Nickname:City, Rebel Army

Ground: Turners Cross

Capacity: 7366

Phone: 021 434 5574

Bishopstown Stadium, Curraheen, Cork

Cork City were founded in 1984 and spent their first two seasons at Flower Lodge before a move to Turner’s Cross where they won their first silverware, lifting the League Cup in 1987/88. The Leesiders reached their first FAI Cup final the following year, losing out to Derry City after a replay. Another FAI Cup final was lost in 1991/92, this time to Bohemians but the club landed their first League title in 1992/93 after a complicated three-way play-off with Bohemians and Shelbourne.

The following season, 1993/94, saw the club make an ill-fated move to Bishopstown where, over the next two years, Damien Richardson’s team did well in the league and played Galatasaray and Slavia Prague in Europe. But the pitch was akin to a marsh and the club were forced to play in Turner’s Cross, St Colman’s Park and even in Tolka Park with the pitch unplayable.

In 1995/96 the club entered receivership and left Bishopstown. Homeless and struggling to survive, a return to Turner's Cross was negotiated and City avoided relegation with a ninth place finish. Things started to improve under manager Dave Barry and the club won their second FAI Cup in 1997/98, beating Shelbourne 1-0 in a replay at Dalymount Park. In the next two seasons City finished second in the league and Barry said goodbye in the summer of 2000.

In 2004, under Pat Dolan, City beat Malmo and NEC Nijmegen in the Intertoto Cup and a 1-1 draw with Nantes at a packed Turner’s Cross wasn’t quite enough to overturn a first-leg defeat. Dolan’s team finished second in the league that year but he departed in pre-season of 2005 to be replaced by Damien Richardson who promptly led the club to their second league title as City beat Derry in the last game of the season at Turner’s Cross in front of an estimated 12,000 crowd. A fortnight later City missed out on the double when they lost the FAI Cup final to Drogheda United.

City won the 2007 FAI Cup, beating Longford Town 1-0 at a rain-soaked RDS but off the pitch the storm clouds were brewing. Venture capital firm, Arkaga, took over ownership of the club and within a short period of time they pulled out, leaving City in examinership. In October 2008 Tom Coughlan stepped in to rescue the club but things continued to deteriorate. In 2009 Paul Doolin led City to a third place finish but the club’s finances imploded and after a protracted legal process Cork City were wound up in February 2010.

In anticipation of this City supporters had applied for their own license to join the league and under the name Cork City Foras Co-op, they competed in the 2010 First Division. In 2011 they bought back the name and history of Cork City FC and won the First Division title, returning the club to the top tier of Irish football.

League Champions: Three times
1992/93, 2005, 2017

First Division Champions: Once

FAI Cup Winners: Three times
1997/98, 2007, 2016

League Cup Winners: Three times
1987/88, 1994/95, 1998/99

Setanta Cup Winners: Once

Squad Breakdown

If you spot incorrect info, email

NameDate of BirthPosition
Alan Smith Ireland 25 May 1993 Goalkeeper
Peter Cherrie Scotland 01 Oct 1983 Goalkeeper
Mark McNulty Ireland 13 Oct 1980 Goalkeeper
Adam Cantwell Ireland Unavailable Goalkeeper
Danny Kane Ireland 23 Apr 1997 Defender
Colm Horgan Ireland 02 Jul 1994 Defender
Conor McCarthy Ireland 11 Apr 1998 Defender
John Dunleavy Ireland 03 Jul 1991 Defender
Aaron Barry Ireland 24 Nov 1992 Defender
Sean McLoughlin Ireland 13 Nov 1996 Defender
Ronan Hurley Ireland 11 Sep 1999 Defender
Alan Bennett Ireland 04 Oct 1981 Defender
Tobi Adebayo-Rowling England 06 Nov 1996 Defender
Shane Griffin Ireland 08 Sep 1994 Defender
Steven Beattie Ireland 20 Aug 1988 Midfield
Barry McNamee Ireland 17 Feb 1992 Midfield
Alec Byrne Ireland 21 Jun 1999 Midfield
Gearóid Morrissey Ireland 17 Nov 1991 Midfield
Josh O'Hanlon Ireland 25 Sep 1995 Midfield
Pierce Phillips Ireland 28 Sep 1998 Midfield
Rory Doyle Ireland 30 Jul 2000 Midfield
Jimmy Keohane Ireland 22 Jan 1991 Midfield
Garry Buckley Ireland 19 Aug 1993 Midfield
Kieran Sadlier England 14 Sep 1994 Midfield
Conor McCormack Ireland 18 May 1990 Midfield
Michael Howard England 17 Oct 1999 Forward
Achille Campion France 10 Mar 1990 Forward
Karl Sheppard Ireland 14 Feb 1991 Forward
Cian Murphy Ireland 08 Jun 2000 Forward
Graham Cummins Ireland 29 Dec 1987 Forward
John Caulfield Ireland 11 Oct 1964 Manager