Website -

Team Profile


Ground: Maginn Park

Capacity: 3000

Phone: +44 (0)28 7137 3111

Derry City,
Brandywell Stadium,
Lone Moor Road,
BT48 9HZ

Derry City Football Club was founded in 1928 (refounded 2010) and has spent the majority of its time in the League of Ireland in the Premier Division, the top tier of league football in the Republic of Ireland. However, the club was expelled in November 2009 when it was discovered there were secondary, unofficial contracts with players. Derry were reconstituted a few weeks later and readmitted to the First Division.

Derry City are the League of Ireland's only participant from Northern Ireland. They play their home fixtures at the Brandywell Stadium and the players wear red and white striped shirts from which their nickname, the Candystripes, derives.

The club initially played in the Irish League, the domestic league in Northern Ireland, and won a title in 1964–65. In 1971 security concerns related to unrest in Northern Ireland meant matches could not be played at the Brandywell. The team played "home" fixtures 30 miles (48 km) away in Coleraine. Security forces withdrew their objections to the use of the Brandywell the following year, but in the face of insistence from the Irish League that the unsustainable arrangement continue, the club withdrew from the league.

After 13 years in junior football Derry joined the League of Ireland's new First Division in 1985/86. Derry won the First Division title in 1987 and achieved promotion to the Premier Division where they remained until 2009, being relegated as a result of financial problems rather than poor sporting performance. The club won a domestic treble in 1988–89, the only Irish club to ever do so.

League Champions:Twice
1988/89, 1996/97

First Division Champions: Twice
1986/87, 2010

FAI Cup Winners: Five times
1988/89, 1994/95, 2002, 2006, 2012

League Cup Winners: Ten times
1988/89, 1990/91, 1991/92, 1993/94, 1999/00, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2011

Squad Breakdown

If you spot incorrect info, email

NameDate of BirthPosition
Eric Grimes Eric Grimes Ireland 04 Feb 1995 Goalkeeper
Gerard Doherty Gerard Doherty Northern Ireland 24 Aug 1981 Goalkeeper
Alon Netzer Alon Netzer Israel	 30 Nov 1996 Defender
Dean Jarvis Dean Jarvis Northern Ireland 01 Jun 1992 Defender
Scott Whiteside Scott Whiteside Unknown 16 Jun 1997 Defender
Aaron Barry Aaron Barry Ireland 24 Nov 1992 Defender
Sam Todd Sam Todd Ireland 28 Apr 1998 Defender
Mark Timlin Mark Timlin Ireland 07 Nov 1994 Midfield
Aaron McEneff Aaron McEneff Ireland 09 Jul 1995 Midfield
Harry Monaghan Harry Monaghan Scotland 24 Mar 1993 Midfield
Lukas Schubert Lukas Schubert Austria	 25 Jun 1989 Midfield
Adrian Delap Adrian Delap Ireland 30 Nov 1998 Midfield
Joshua Daniels Joshua Daniels Northern Ireland 22 Feb 1996 Midfield
Nicky Low Nicky Low Scotland 06 Jan 1992 Midfield
Conor McDermott Conor McDermott Ireland 18 Sep 1997 Midfield
Barry McNamee Barry McNamee Ireland 17 Feb 1992 Midfield
Rory Patterson Rory Patterson Northern Ireland 16 Jul 1984 Forward
Cathal Farren Cathal Farren Ireland 02 Jul 1998 Forward
Ben Doherty Ben Doherty Northern Ireland 24 Mar 1997 Forward
Rory Holden Rory Holden Ireland 23 Aug 1997 Forward
Nathan Boyle Nathan Boyle Northern Ireland 14 Apr 1994 Forward
Ronan Curtis Ronan Curtis Northern Ireland 29 Mar 1996 Forward
Mikhail Kennedy Mikhail Kennedy Northern Ireland 18 Aug 1996 Forward