O'Neill names final squad for trip to Turkey

Sun, Mar 18 2018

Ireland travel to take on Turkey Credit: Brian F Smyth (ETPhotos)

Ahead of Friday’s friendly in Turkey, Martin O'Neill has finalised his 25 man Republic of Ireland squad on Sunday afternoon.


The team will travel to Turkey tomorrow with a squad that includes eight uncapped players – Aaron McCarey, Kieran O'Hara, Matt Doherty, Declan Rice, Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams, Enda Stevens and Scott Hogan. 


With goalkeepers Keiren Westwood and Rob Elliot missing out due to injury, Ross County ‘keeper Aaron McCarey makes the squad, with Colin Doyle joining up after Bradford City's trip to play Doncaster Rovers on Sunday evening.


O'Hara and Rice are being drafted in from the Ireland Under 21 squad but they will remain with Noel King’s squad until after the UEFA European Championship qualifier against Azerbaijan which takes place on Tuesday at Tallaght Stadium.


Defenders Greg Cunningham John Egan drop out from the senior provisional squad as do midfield Harry Arter and Liam Kelly.


Republic of Ireland Squad

Goalkeepers: Colin Doyle (Bradford City), Kieran O'Hara (Manchester United), Aaron McCarey (Ross County) 

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Alex Pearce (Derby County), Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United)

Midfielders: Alan Judge (Brentford), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), David Meyler (Hull City), Eunan O'Kane (Leeds United), Alan Browne, Daryl Horgan (Preston North End), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Sean Maguire (Preston North End)