Four Saints called up to Colin O'Brien's Irish under-17 squad ahead of next week's trio of qualifiers

Thu, Nov 07 2019

Republic of Ireland under-17 manager Colin O’Brien has named a 20-player strong squad in advance of the side’s crucial UEFA European under-17 Championship Qualifiers next week.

O’Brien has named 14 players from League of Ireland clubs in his squad with a first time call up for Cork City midfielder Oran Crowe.

Dublin born Crystal Palace defender Tayo Adaramola also receives a first international call up for these crucial fixtures.

“This is a good team and each of them are here on merit. We’ve been assessing players that have come through our underage teams as well as those playing in the National League,” O’Brien told  the FAI’s website.

“We had a double-header in September against a very strong Russia team and that really pleased me and in October we had a training camp and in all we’ve looked at around 40 players.

“Tayo [Adaramola] joined us for training and he did great and I’m pleased that he’ll be a part of the squad.”

Ireland will play the three games in Turner’s Cross as they look to advance to the Elite Round of the competition as they aim to qualify for the finals of the tournament in Estonia next year.

First up is Andorra on Tuesday, 12 November (kick-off 7.30pm), then on Friday, 15 November they face Montenegro (kick-off 7.30pm) before finally facing Israel on Monday, November 18 (kick-off 2pm).

Republic of Ireland under-17 Squad

Goalkeepers: Josh Keeley (St Patrick’s Athletic), Daniel Rose (Everton).

Defenders: Gavin O’Brien (Bohemians), Oisin Hand (Shamrock Rovers), Daragh Reilly (St Patrick’s Athletic), Anselmo Garcia McNulty (Wolfsburg), Leigh Kavanagh (Bray Wanderers) Tayo Adaramola (Crystal Palace).

Midfielders: Colin Conroy (Bohemians), Kyle Conway (St Patrick’s Athletic), Oran Crowe (Cork City), Andrew Moran (Bray Wanderers), Ben McCormack (St Patrick’s Athletic), Olabosun Lawal (Watford).

Forwards: Kailin Barlow (Sligo Rovers), Evan Ferguson (Bohemians), Robert Mahon (Bohemians), Sinclair Armstrong (Shamrock Rovers) Calum Kavanagh (Middlesbrough), Oliver O’Neill (Fulham).