PFAI First Division Team of the Year released with five Longford and two Shelbourne representatives

Tue, Oct 22 2019

Longford Town had five players named in the PFAI First Division Team of the Year Credit: Peter Fitzpatrick (ETPhotos)

Longford Town have seen five of their 2019 campaigners being voted in on the PFAI’s First Division team of the year.

Shelbourne duo Ryan Brennan and Luke Byrne have both made the cut, along with the Drogheda United pairing of Sean Brennan and Chris Lyons also making the side.

Cabinteely’s top scorer Rob Manley has also been voted onto the side – with his 17 league goals proving decisive.

Elsewhere, Bray Wanderers winger Dylan McGlade has also been voted into the XI by his peers.

Longford quintet Lee Steacy, Shane Elworthy, Conor Kenna, Anto Breslin and Dean Byrne have all made the side.

The Red and Black of the Midlands eventually succumbed to a heart-breaking penalty shootout against Cabinteely.

Both Cabinteely and Drogheda remain in the promotion hunt with one and two players respectively on the team.

Champions Shelbourne have only seen two of their title-winning side make the team, with Ryan Brennan and Luke Byrne making the side.

The Seagulls Dylan McGlade has also made the XI for the second successive year on the spin – having scored 10 league goals for Gary Cronin’s side.

PFAI First Division Team of the Year

Lee Steacy (Longford Town)

Anthony Breslin (Longford Town)

Luke Byrne (Shelbourne)

Conor Kenna (Longford Town)

Shane Elworthy (Longford Town)

Ryan Brennan (Shelbourne)

Sean Brennan (Drogheda United)

Dylan McGlade (Bray Wanderers)

Dean Byrne (Longford Town)

Chris Lyons (Drogheda United)

Rob Manley (Cabinteely)