Dave Connell's women under-19s get off to perfect start with a two-nil win over Ukraine

Thu, Oct 03 2019

Dave Connell Credit: Martin Doherty (ETPhotos)

The Republic of Ireland Women’s Under-19s got their UEFA Women’s Under-19 EURO 2020 Qualifying Round off to a perfect start with a comprehensive 2-0 win over the Ukraine.

Goals in each half from Jessica Ziu and Aoife Slattery made sure of the three points for Connell’s side who are bidding to make it to next year’s finals in Georgia.

Connell spoke after the game to FAI.ie, where he explained his delight at the Girls in Green’s win over the Ukrainians.  

“It is always good to see moves that we worked on in training work out for the players. There were lots of positives from the game for us.

“We’re obviously glad to have got the win and to have kept a clean sheet also. And with qualification in mind, the win is important.

“But we probably should have scored more goals. We had the chances, but just didn’t convert them. We will work on that ahead of the next game.”

The 57 year old added; “Ukraine were a good side today, so we had to work hard to get the win. It was a good team performance which is important with the rest of the campaign in mind.

“Emily Whelan didn’t get on the scoresheet today, but she was excellent for us. She worked extremely hard and created plenty of chances for the team. We’ll work hard for the next few days and will be looking forward to Saturday’s game.”

Ireland will face Montenegro on Saturday at noon before they will face the hosts Netherlands on Tuesday with a kick-off time of 6pm.

Republic of Ireland: Rachael Kelly, Zara Foley (Leah Brady 84), Eabha O'Mahony, Roisin McGovern, Aoife Slattery, Sinead Donovan (Mia Dodd 71), Izzy Atkinson (Niamh Reynolds 71), Rebecca Cooke (Kayla Brady 78), Alannah McEvoy, Jessica Ziu, Emily Whelan (Sophie Liston 84).

Ukraine: Anna-Mariia Kryschyshyn, Nadiia Veherych, Anastasiia Nemets (Alina Godunko 21), Romana Lukach, Liudmyla Kunina (Kateryna Kuksa 63), Oksana Bilokur (Anastasiia Kuzmych 73), Alisa Bordiug, Iryna Kotiash, Oleksandra Krevska, Anastasiia Kurdiuk, Anna Lemeshuk.

Referee: Sandra Strub (Switzerland).