When is the Europa League draw, where can I watch it & who can Cork City, Shamrock Rovers and St Patrick's Athletic draw?

Tue, Jun 18 2019

Shamrock Rovers fans during Friday's Dublin Derby defeat to Bohemians. Credit: Conor Ryan (ETPhotos)

Cork City, Shamrock Rovers and St Patrick’s Athletic will find out their opponents in the first qualifying round for the Europa League on Tuesday afternoon.

The draw in Nyon will see the two Dublin sides and Cork City find out their first round opponents along with Crusaders of Belfast.

Both City and Crusaders are seeded in Group 4 of the draw, and therefore can’t be drawn together, while Rovers and Pats are unseeded in Groups 1 and 8 respectively.

Both City and Rovers were involved in the European shake-up last year, City through the Champions League route, but neither progressed beyond a round.

Cork were beaten by Polish champions Legia Warsaw in the Champions League qualifiers before bowing out to Rosenborg of Norway after being bumped down to the Europa League.

Rovers drew AIK of Sweden and, after losing the first leg 1-0 in Tallaght, they tied it up in Stockholm courtesy of Dan Carr, but they conceded a second goal in extra time before bowing out.

It’s the first time in three years the Saints are involved, having taken the place of Waterford, who were disqualified as they don’t meet UEFA ownership requirements.

What time is the draw?

Tuesday, June 18th, 2.30pm Irish time.

Where is it?

UEFA HQ, Nyon, Switzerland.

Where can I watch or stream it online?

The draw will be streamed online via UEFA.com.

What are the possible draws for the Irish clubs.

Cork City and Crusaders are both seeded in Group 4 alongside Rangers of Scotland, Molde of Norway and Brondby of Denmark.

Potential opponents include KR of Iceland, who knocked out City with ten men in 2015, and Progres Niederkorn, who were beaten 3-0 by Rovers the same year.

Group 4 (seeded sides in bold)

Rangers (SCO)

Brøndby (DEN)

Cork (IRL)

Molde (NOR)

Crusaders (NIR)

Progrès Niederkorn (LUX)/Cardiff Metropolitan University (WAL)

B36 (FRO)

Inter Turku (FIN)


Prishtina (KOS)/St Joseph's (GIB)

Rovers are unseed in Group 1, where they could face Scotland’s Kilmarnock, who boast Dubliners Gary Dicker and Alan Power in their ranks, Brann of Norway or Sweden’s Malmo.

Group 1 (seeded sides in bold)

Vaduz (LIE)

Kilmarnock (SCO)

Brann (NOR)

Vitebsk (BLR)

Malmö (SWE)

Shamrock Rovers (IRL)

Ballymena (NIR)/NSÍ (FRO)

Connah's Quay Nomads (WAL)

KuPS Kuopio (FIN)

Breidablik (ISL)

The Athletic are unseeded in Group 8, where their potential opponents include Scotland’s Aberdeen and Stjarnan of Iceland, whom Rovers beat home and away in 2017.

Group 8 (seeded sides in bold)

Haugesund (NOR)

Aberdeen (SCO)

Stjarnan (ISL)

Norrköping (SWE)

Dinamo Minsk (BLR)

Riteriai (LTU)

Liep?ja (LVA)

Levadia Tallinn (EST)

Barry Town (WAL)/Cliftonville (NIR)

Saint Patrick's (IRL)

RoPS Rovaniemi (FIN)

KÍ (FRO)/Tre Fiori (SMR)