Darren Randolph voted in PFA Championship team of the year

Wed, Apr 24 2019

Randolph in action for Ireland in March's 1-0 Euro 2020 qualifying win over Georgia. Credit: Eddie Lennon (ETPhotos)

Republic of Ireland goalkeeper Darren Randolph has been honoured by his peers and selected in the PFA Championship team of the year for 2018/19.

The Bray stopper has been in rude form for Middlesbrough this season who, along with second-placed Sheffield United, boast the division’s most miserly defence.

Randolph has played all 3,960 minutes of the Smoggies’ league campaign to date and has conceded just 39 goals in 44 games and kept 19 clean sheets.

He’s the only Middlesbrough player in a team dominated by league leaders Norwich City and third-placed Leeds United, with three each, while the Blades have two.

Former Republic of Ireland under-21 international Jack Grealish also makes the cut following a breakthrough season that’s seen him made Aston Villa captain and scoring six goals.


The 31-year-old joined the north-east club from West Ham United two years ago and helped the club to a play-off semi-final in his first season at the club.

Middlesbrough face an uphill battle to secure promotion however as, despite their defensive solidity, they sit outside the play-offs on goal difference behind Derby County.

Former Charlton Athletic, Motherwell, Birmingham City and West Ham keeper Randolph has accrued 35 caps for his country since debuting in 2012.

PFA Championship team of the year: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Max Aarons (Norwich City), Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Pontus Jansson (Leeds United), Jamal Lewis (Norwich City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Oliver Norwood (Sheffield United), Pablo Hernandez (Leeds United), Billy Sharp (Sheffield United), Tammy Abraham (Aston Villa), Teemu Pukki (Norwich City).