Wexford Youths and Peamount United dominate Women's National League Team of the Year

Sat, Nov 10 2018

Wexford completed a domestic treble with their 1-0 win at the Aviva. Credit: Hugh de Paor (ETPhotos)

FAI Cup final dualists Wexford Youths and Peamount United contributed seven players to the Women’s National League Team of the Year announced on Friday night.

The team was unveiled at the awards night in Ballsbridge, Dublin, as tributes were paid to the leading lights from this year’s senior and underage leagues.

Despite losing out to Wexford on the day, Peamount contribute more players to the team with four – Amber Barrett, Niamh Farrelly, captain Louise Corrigan and Megan Smyth-Lynch.

Three Wexford players made it onto the list, which is voted for by their peers, with Player of the Year Rianna Jarrett joined by Kylie Murphy and Lauren Dwyer.

UCD Waves goalkeeper Erica Turner, Shelbourne defender Seana Cooke, Cork City defender Eabha O’Mahoney and Galway midfielder Aislinn Meaney complete the list.

As well as Jarrett being named senior Player of the Year, Turner was named Young Player of the Year and Shelbourne’s Emily Whelan was named under-17 Player of the Year.