Wylie names Northern Ireland senior women’s side for Netherlands clash

Tue, May 29 2018

Alfie Wylie has named his Northern Ireland senior Women’s squad to face European Champions the Netherlands next Friday at Shamrock Park.

Linfield Ladies goalkeeper Lauren Perry and Jaqueline Burns who plays her football in the United States at Carson Newman University have been named as the two goalkeepers.

The defence consists of four Danske Bank Women's Premiership players Glentoran’s Jessica Foy,Cliftonville’s Billie Simpson,Linfield’s Ashley Hutton and captain Julie Nelson who plays for Crusaders strikers.

Rachel Newborough, Laura Rafferty and Crystal Palace’s Freya Holdaway make up the rest of the defensive unit.

Wylie has named Ciara Sherwood,Megan Bell,Sarah McFadden,Rachel Furness,Marissa Callaghan,Demi Vance and Emma McMaster as his midfielders going into the World Cup qualifying game.

Alison Smyth,Kirsty McGuinness,Louise McDaniel and Brenna McPartlan are all selected and hope to lead the line. 

Everton Ladies striker Simone Magill is a notable absentee due to injury.

The FIFA Women's World Cup qualifier will be held on Friday 8 June at Shamrock Park, Portadown with kick off at 7:30pm and free entry to all supporters.

Netherlands, who currently sit top of Group 3, were 7-0 winners the last time the two teams met back in April at the PSV Stadion in Eindhoven.