• Team:


Ground: Turners Cross   Capacity: 7366   Nickname: City, Rebel Army   Website: http://www.corkcityfc.net
Cork City

Cork City

Bishopstown Stadium, Curraheen, Cork

Tel: 021 434 5574

Cork City Home Kit
Home Kit
Cork City Away Kit
Away Kit
Cork City Third Kit
Third Kit

Cork City were founded in 1984 and spent their first two seasons at Flower Lodge before a move to Turner’s Cross where they won their first silverware, lifting the League Cup in 1987/88. The Leesiders reached their first FAI Cup final the following year, losing out to Derry City after a replay. Another FAI Cup final was lost in 1991/92, this time to Bohemians but the club landed their first League title in 1992/93 after a complicated three-way play-off with Bohemians and Shelbourne.

The following season, 1993/94, saw the club make an ill-fated move to Bishopstown where, over the next two years, Damien Richardson’s team did well in the league and played Galatasaray and Slavia Prague in Europe. But the pitch was akin to a marsh and the club were forced to play in Turner’s Cross, St Colman’s Park and even in Tolka Park with the pitch unplayable.

In 1995/96 the club entered receivership and left Bishopstown. Homeless and struggling to survive, a return to Turner's Cross was negotiated and City avoided relegation with a ninth place finish. Things started to improve under manager Dave Barry and the club won their second FAI Cup in 1997/98, beating Shelbourne 1-0 in a replay at Dalymount Park. In the next two seasons City finished second in the league and Barry said goodbye in the summer of 2000.

In 2004, under Pat Dolan, City beat Malmo and NEC Nijmegen in the Intertoto Cup and a 1-1 draw with Nantes at a packed Turner’s Cross wasn’t quite enough to overturn a first-leg defeat. Dolan’s team finished second in the league that year but he departed in pre-season of 2005 to be replaced by Damien Richardson who promptly led the club to their second league title as City beat Derry in the last game of the season at Turner’s Cross in front of an estimated 12,000 crowd. A fortnight later City missed out on the double when they lost the FAI Cup final to Drogheda United.

City won the 2007 FAI Cup, beating Longford Town 1-0 at a rain-soaked RDS but off the pitch the storm clouds were brewing. Venture capital firm, Arkaga, took over ownership of the club and within a short period of time they pulled out, leaving City in examinership. In October 2008 Tom Coughlan stepped in to rescue the club but things continued to deteriorate. In 2009 Paul Doolin led City to a third place finish but the club’s finances imploded and after a protracted legal process Cork City were wound up in February 2010.

In anticipation of this City supporters had applied for their own license to join the league and under the name Cork City Foras Co-op, they competed in the 2010 First Division. In 2011 they bought back the name and history of Cork City FC and won the First Division title, returning the club to the top tier of Irish football.

League Champions: Twice
1992/93, 2005

First Division Champions: Once

FAI Cup Winners: Twice
1997/98, 2007

League Cup Winners: Three times
1987/88, 1994/95, 1998/99

Setanta Cup Winners: Once

Squad Breakdown
If you spot incorrect info, email extratimelive@gmail.com

NameDate of BirthPosition
Mark McNulty Mark McNulty Ireland 13 Oct 1980 Goalkeeper
Matthew Gledhill Matthew Gledhill England 12 Nov 1993 Goalkeeper
Kevin O'Brien Kevin O'Brien Ireland Unavailable Goalkeeper
Neal Horgan Neal Horgan Ireland 29 Nov 1979 Defender
Dan Murray Dan Murray England 16 May 1982 Defender
Iarfhlaith Davoren Iarfhlaith Davoren Ireland 12 May 1986 Defender
Jason Forde Jason Forde Ireland 21 Feb 1994 Defender
Garry Buckley Garry Buckley Ireland 19 Aug 1993 Defender
John Dunleavy John Dunleavy Ireland 03 Jul 1991 Defender
Kevin Mulcahy Kevin Mulcahy Ireland 02 Mar 1986 Defender
Darren Dennehy Darren Dennehy Ireland 21 Sep 1988 Defender
Liam Kearney Liam Kearney Ireland 10 Jan 1983 Midfield
Darren Murphy Darren Murphy Ireland 28 May 1985 Midfield
Colin Healy Colin Healy Ireland 14 Mar 1980 Midfield
Billy Dennehy Billy Dennehy Ireland 17 Feb 1987 Midfield
David O'Leary David O'Leary Ireland 17 Jul 1992 Midfield
Ian Turner Ian Turner Ireland 19 Apr 1989 Midfield
Gearóid  Morrissey Gearóid Morrissey Ireland 17 Nov 1991 Midfield
Mark O'Sullivan Mark O'Sullivan Ireland 01 Feb 1983 Midfield
Andy O'Connell Andy O'Connell Ireland 09 Mar 1993 Midfield
John Kavanagh John Kavanagh Ireland 19 Jul 1994 Midfield
Brian Lenihan Brian Lenihan Ireland 08 Jun 1994 Midfield
Roy O'Donovan Roy O'Donovan Ireland 10 Aug 1985 Forward
John O'Flynn John O'Flynn Ireland 11 Jul 1982 Forward
Michael  Rafter Michael Rafter Ireland 19 Jun 1992 Forward
Danny Morrissey Danny Morrissey Ireland 13 Dec 1993 Forward
Robert Lehane Robert Lehane Ireland 10 Feb 1994 Forward
Anthony Elding Anthony Elding England 16 Apr 1982 Forward
Last Six Results
Cork City scores first

18 Apr Drogheda United (H) 3 - 1
11 Apr Sligo Rovers (H) 1 - 1
04 Apr Shamrock Rovers (H) 3 - 0
28 Mar Athlone Town (A) 3 - 0
21 Mar Bray Wanderers (H) 3 - 1
16 Mar Derry City (A) 1 - 0
 All Fixtures