Setanta Sports Cup 2013 details announced

Wed, Nov 07 2012


The 12 participants for the 2013 Setanta Sports Cup have been confirmed and will enter the draw set to take place on Thursday December 6, in Stormont.


2012 winners Crusaders will be joined as seeded clubs by Sligo Rovers, Linfield and Derry City. The remaining eight unseeded clubs consist of Cliftonville, Drogheda United, Glentoran, St. Patrick’s Athletic, Portadown, Shamrock Rovers, Coleraine and Cork City.


The first round will take place in February with the first leg on Monday, February 11, 2013. The second leg will take place the following Monday provided none of clubs involved have Irish Cup replays to fulfil. In the event of Irish Cup replays, the second leg fixture would be rescheduled for Tuesday, February 26.


The Quarter Finals are fixed for early March with first leg ties set for Monday, March 4 and the second leg a week later on Monday, March 11. Again the second leg date is subject to change due to Irish Cup replays and the rescheduled date would be Tuesday, March 19.


Both semi-finals will be played in April with the first leg ties on Tuesday, April 16 and the return legs on Monday, April 22.


The final is scheduled for Saturday, May 11. The venue will not be decided until the participating teams are known.