Licences revealed, Cork saga goes on
Published: February 15, 2010

The licences for the 2010 League of Ireland season were awarded on Monday (February 15), but mystery still surrounds the future of Cork City FC.

With Cork due at the High Court to pay off a Revenue bill and engaged in takeover talks, the Independent Club Licensing Committee have opted to defer their decision on the Munster-based club for another week.

A statement released on behalf of the Quintas Group, who are interested in taking control of The Leesiders, claimed that any takeover would only go through if Cork were to receive a Premier Division licence for the coming season.

While the wait continues for Cork, several clubs, including Bray Wanderers, Longford Town, Monaghan United, Shelbourne and Waterford United, have been granted Premier Division licences. Derry City, who were expelled from the league last year, have been approved for a First Division licence along with Salthill Devon.

The top division will only contain 10 teams, so a final decision still needs to be made on the make-up of both the Premier Division and the First Division. Clubs can appeal the Committe's decision, but everything is now being held up to see what happens with Cork.

"The Independent Club Licensing Committee today (February 15th) awarded 14 Premier Division licences, seven First Division licences and five Newstalk A Championship licences for the 2010 season," read a FAI statement.

"The Independent Club Licensing Committee has deferred its decision on Cork City until after the High Court case comes in for mention on Monday, February 22nd next.

"In making its decision, the Independent Club Licensing Committee noted that one of the fundamental principles of club licensing is the protection of creditors such as club employees, other clubs and the Revenue.

"The Independent Club Licensing Committee was made aware of a potential takeover which may result in commitments to creditors being honoured. As this takeover is dependent on the outcome of the High Court order, the Independent Committee felt it prudent to await that outcome and give maximum opportunity for creditors to be paid.

"The application from FORAS has been deferred pending the outcome of the Cork City decision."

Premier Division: Bohemians, Bray Wanderers, Dundalk, Drogheda United, Galway United, Longford Town, Monaghan United, Shelbourne, Shamrock Rovers, Sligo Rovers, St Patrick's Athletic, Sporting Fingal, UCD, Waterford United.

First Division: Athlone Town, Derry City, Finn Harps, Limerick FC, Mervue United, Salthill Devon, Wexford Youths.

Newstalk A Championship: Castlebar Celtic, Cobh Ramblers, FC Carlow, Tralee Dynamos, Tullamore Town.
Extratime Team

More articles from Extratime Team

image description

WNL Preview: Peamount United v Castlebar Celtic

by Extratime Team on Fri, Nov 28 2014

In their previous meeting this season, Peamount turned around a two goal half time deficit to claim a 3 – ...... Read more

image description Photographer: Jason O'Callaghan

WNL Preview: Galway WFC v Cork City Women's FC

by Extratime Team on Fri, Nov 28 2014

A maiden league victory of the campaign is on the line in Eamonn Deacy Park as Galway WFC host Cork ...... Read more

image description Photographer: Billy Galligan

WNL Preview: UCD Waves v Raheny United

by Extratime Team on Fri, Nov 28 2014

Second placed UCD Waves host third place Raheny United in a repeat of the FAI Continental Tyres Women’s Cup Final ...... Read more

Defence Forces finish third at CISM European Championships

by Extratime Team on Fri, Nov 28 2014

The Irish Defence Forces have finished third at the CISM European Championships after losing to Netherlands in today’s final game ...... Read more

Breen named FAI Continental Tyres Women’s National League Player of the Month

by Extratime Team on Thu, Nov 27 2014

WEXFORD Youths Women’s AFC striker Carol Breen has been named FAI Continental Tyres Women’s National League Player of the Month ...... Read more

Raheny United feature first in new NEAR FM radio series

by Extratime Team on Thu, Nov 27 2014

Dublin clubs Raheny United, St. Kevin’s Boys and Sheriff YC are set to feature in a new three part series ...... Read more