Sean Maguire and David McGoldrick get first starts as Mick McCarthy era kicks off in Gibraltar

Sat, Mar 23 2019

Former Cork City striker Maguire has been included from the start for the first time in a competitive game. Credit: Michael P Ryan (ETPhotos)

Sean Maguire and David McGoldrick have been handed their first competitive international starts as the Mick McCarthy era kicks off in Gibraltar this evening.

Preston striker Maguire and Sheffield United playmaker McGoldrick have never played alongside one another but have impressed enough to warrant inclusion in the first eleven of McCarthy’s second reign.

Seamus Coleman will captain the side from right-back alongside Shane Duffy, Richard Keogh and Enda Stevens, who also makes his first competitive start.

Wolves’ Matt Doherty has also been selected to start alongside Aston Villa’s Conor Hourihane, Jeff Hendrick and James McClean, while Darren Randolph continues in goal.

Shamrock Rovers midfielder Jack Byrne is included on the bench alongside potential debutants Mark Travers, James Collins and Josh Cullen.

There are five former League of Ireland players in the starting line-up: Stevens (Shamrock Rovers), Coleman (Sligo Rovers), Doherty (Bohemians), McClean (Derry City) and Maguire (Cork City).