Dave Connell names squad for under-19 tournament in England

Tue, Jul 10 2018

Dave Connell (right) ahead of the Ireland U19 game with Austria last season Credit: Steve Alfred (ETPhotos)

Dave Connell has named his Republic of Ireland Women’s under 19 squad for a friendly tournament that will take place in England over the coming week.

The young Girls in Green set to take on Northern Ireland on 14 July before taking on the hosts England on 18 July.

It is a strong squad that has been named with a number of members of the senior squad included for the tournament including Peamount United winger Heather Payne and Sion Swifts midfielder Amy Boyle-Carr.

Some WNL fixtures have been affected by the squad announcement (see here).

Connell is already looking ahead to the 2019 European Championship qualifiers and will see this tournament as ideal preparation before these games.

It is also a great chance for players to put their best foot forward as they look to cement their places in the team for the qualifiers.

"We're looking forward to the tournament as it should provide the perfect challenge for us,” said Connell shortly after the squad announcement.

“We've got to look forward and the next challenge for us is the 2019 European Championship qualifiers so we're constantly assessing in preparation for that. 

We've got some great experience in the squad as well with the likes of Heather Payne and Isibeal Atkinson who've recently done so well for the senior squad. 

There are a number of players making the step-up to the level as well from the WU17s so it's a good mix”.

Republic of Ireland WU19 Squad

Goalkeepers:Erica Turner (UCD Waves), Rachel Kelly (Shelbourne)

Defenders:Aoife Slattery (Wexford Youths), Sadhbh Doyle (Galway Women's), Roisin McGovern (UCD Waves), Leah Brady (Galway Women's), Doireann Fahey (Wexford Youths), Rachel Baynes (Galway Women's).

Midfielders:Megan Mackey (Brighton and Hove Albion), Lucia Lobato (Galway Women's), Heather Payne (Peamount United), Amy Boyle Carr (Sion Swifts), Orla Casey (Wexford Youths), Chloe Singleton (Galway Women's), Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne), Sinead Donavan (Galway Women's).

Forwards:Carla McManus (Kilkenny United), Louise Masterson (Peamount United), Alannah McEvoy (Shelbourne), Aoife Thompson (Galway Women's).


Saturday, July 14: Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland, kick off 6pm (Queen Ethelburgas Collegiate)

Wednesday, July 18: England v Republic of Ireland, kick off 12.30pm, (Queen Ethelburgas Collegiate)