Five each from Galway and Shelbourne as Ireland squad named for under-19 Euros elite qualifying

Fri, Mar 30 2018

Under-17 international player of the year Tiegan Ruddy is one of five Shelbourne players selected Credit: Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile

Galway and Shelbourne each contribute five players to the 20-strong Ireland under-19 panel that will contest European Championship qualifying in Cork next week.

Cork City's Danielle Burke and Saoirse Noonan will represent their country in their hometown as Ireland take on Austria, Turkey and reigning champions Spain over six days in the Elite Round.

Last season's under-17 international player of the year Tiegen Ruddy is one of five Reds in the squad alongside Alex Kavanagh, Lynn Craven, Kate Mooney and Alannah McEvoy.

Galway see representations from Sadhb Doyle, Sinead Donovan, Chloe Singleton, Aoife Thompson and Lucia Lobato.

Aston Villa's Phoebe Warner and Chelsea's Megan Mackey are the only players in the squad not currently plying their trade in the Women's National League.

Ireland will face Austria in their first game on April 2nd, followed by Spain on the 5th and, finally, Turkey on the 8th, with only the group winners progressing to the finals in Switzerland in July.


Republic of Ireland U19 Squad

Goalkeepers: Naoisha McAloon (Peamount United), Erica Turner (UCD Waves).

Defenders: Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Lauryn O’Callaghan (Peamount United), Danielle Burke (Cork City), Sadbh Doyle (Galway WFC), Tiegan Ruddy (Shelbourne Ladies).

Midfielders: Chloe Singleton (Galway WFC), Sinead Donavon (Galway WFC), Alex Kavanagh (Shelbourne Ladies), Lynn Craven (Shelbourne Ladies), Megan Mackey (Chelsea), Phoebe Warner (Aston Villa), Orla Casey (Wexford Youths WFC).

Forwards: Saoirse Noonan (Cork City), Aoife Thompson (Galway WFC), Lucia Lobato (Galway WFC), Kate Mooney (Shelbourne Ladies), Alannah McEvoy (Shelbourne Ladies), Naima Chemaou (UCD Waves).


2017/18 UEFA Women's Under-19 European Championships Elite Round Fixtures

April 2: Republic of Ireland v Austria, Turners Cross, 15:00

April 5: Spain v Republic of Ireland, Turners Cross, 19:00

April 8: Turkey v Republic of Ireland, Turners Cross, 14:00