Derry City to host champions Linfield on opening day as Women's Premiership fixtures released

Fri, Mar 09 2018


Champions Linfield will kick off their Danske Bank Women's Premiership defence away to Derry City when the league kicks off on April 18th.

The league will consist of seven teams in 2018 following the withdrawal of Newry City at the end of last season, with Derry City taking their place at the top level.

Portadown will also contest the Premiership for the first time following their promotion, with Ballymena United having been relegated last year.

Portadown will host Cliftonville on the opening weekend, while Glentoran are at home to Crusaders in a Belfast derby.

Sion Swifts – who were represented by Amy Boyle Carr in the most recent Republic of Ireland squad – have a gap week before hosting Derry in their first game the following week.

"We're excited for the eagerly anticipated return of the Danske Bank Women's Premiership next month," said league managing director Andrew Johnston.

"Our Women's Premiership continues to grow every year and following the dramatic finish to last season’s campaign, we are hoping that this year will be even better! Our thanks also go to Danske Bank for their continued support of the Women's Premiership."

Opening Fixtures:

Matchday 1 – Wednesday 18 April
Derry City Ladies v. Linfield Ladies
Glentoran Womens FC v. Crusaders Strikers
Portadown Ladies v. Cliftonville Ladies

Matchday 2 – Wednesday 25 April
Crusaders Strikers v. Portadown Ladies
Linfield Ladies v. Glentoran Womens FC
Sion Swifts v. Derry City Ladies