Donohue names Under-15 squad for Cyprus friendlies

Wed, Feb 28 2018

The Republic of Ireland U-15 squad will get their first taste of action in 2018 next week when they take on Cyprus in back-to-back friendlies.


Head coach Jason Donohue has been watching each of his players closely since their last outing in November which was a friendly against Poland and today named an 18-player squad for the busy schedule next week.


The opening fixture will take place next Tuesday, March 6th at the City Calling Stadium and is pencilled in for a 7pm kick off.


The second game against the same opposition will take place two days later on Thursday, March 8th with a nice early afternoon kick off of 1pm.


Following the announcement, Donohue said that he has picked players on form and hopes the new additions take their chance.


"We've had some assessments and watched plenty of players. We have made seven changes from the last squad, giving plenty of players in form the chance to impress.


"All of the home-based players are playing in the Under-15 National League. The gap is closer now to international football, because they are playing at an elite level."


Republic of Ireland Under-15 squad
Goalkeepers: Daniel Rose (Everton), Patrick McGarvey (Finn Harps)
Defenders: Anselmo Garcia McNulty (Real Betis), Conrad Egan Riley (Manchester City), Gavin O'Brien (Bohemians/St. Kevin's Boys), Len O'Sullivan (Bohemians/St. Kevin's Boys), Ronan Kilkenny (Bohemians/St. Kevin's Boys)
Midfielders: Ben McCormack (St. Patrick's Athletic), Bosun Lawal (Bohemians/St. Kevin's Boys), Colin Conroy (Bohemians/St. Kevin's Boys), Evan Caffrey (Shamrock Rovers), Kailin Barlow (Sligo Rovers), Kyle Conway (St. Patrick's Athletic), Oran Crowe (Cork City), Sami Clarke (Shamrock Rovers) Val Adedokun (Dundalk)
Forwards: Calum Kavanagh (Middlesbrough), Louie Barry (West Bromwich Albion)