Derry City named Fair Play Award winners for 2017

Wed, Feb 14 2018

Derry were rewarded for behaviour of players on the pitch and supporters off it. Credit: John-Paul McGinley


'Drogheda feels like home' for Buckley as he signs for 5th year

Drogheda United have completed the re-signing of defender Lloyd Buckley, who will be eligible for Friday’s First Division league opener ...

Thu, Feb 22 2018

Shamrock Rovers swoop for Sean Kavanagh

Shamrock Rovers have snapped up Sean Kavanagh from under the noses of Derry City ahead of the closing of the ...

Tue, Feb 20 2018

Anthony McAlavey join Cobh Ramblers

Cobh Ramblers have announced the signing of Anthony McAlavey just days before they kick off their 2018 SSE Airtricity League ...

Mon, Feb 19 2018

Derry City have been named winners of the 2017 SSE Airtricity League Fair Play Award after the Candystripes scored the highest results in as many as five categories on their way to winning the prestigious honour.


The award, which was last won by Dundalk in 2016, considers on-field discipline and behaviour of supporters as the criteria to qualify for the title.


Derry City were the resounding victors of the award as the Foylesiders came out on top in no less than five aspects of the honour in: Yellow & Red Cards, Respect for opponents, Respect for match officials, Behaviour of team officials, and Behaviour of supporters.


"I'd like to congratulate and commend Derry City for topping the Fair Play table for the 2017 season," said Fran Gavin, the FAI Director of Competitions.


"It is hugely important that each of the teams in the SSE Airtricity League embrace the values of fair play, which extends to the players on the pitch, the managers and coaches in the dug-out, and the supporters in the stands.


"There was a lot to be proud of in the 2017 season and how Derry City, and other clubs, took on the merits of fair play was hugely encouraging. We hope that that continues into the 2018 season."


Making up the rest of the top three were double champions Cork City who finished in 3rd place for the second year in a row while the 2016 First Division winners Limerick came in second place to the eventual winners.