Tom Mohan names U19 squad for friendlies against Romania

Fri, Feb 09 2018

Aaron Dobbs has been called in to the u19 squad. Credit: Laszlo Geczo


'Drogheda feels like home' for Buckley as he signs for 5th year

Drogheda United have completed the re-signing of defender Lloyd Buckley, who will be eligible for Friday’s First Division league opener ...

Thu, Feb 22 2018

Shamrock Rovers swoop for Sean Kavanagh

Shamrock Rovers have snapped up Sean Kavanagh from under the noses of Derry City ahead of the closing of the ...

Tue, Feb 20 2018

Anthony McAlavey join Cobh Ramblers

Cobh Ramblers have announced the signing of Anthony McAlavey just days before they kick off their 2018 SSE Airtricity League ...

Mon, Feb 19 2018

Republic of Ireland Under-19 manager Tom Mohan has announced his squad for two upcoming friendlies against Romania in Spain next week.


Among the 20 players selected for next week’s games are six home-based players, Daniel McKenna (Bray Wanderers – on loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Owen Wall and Aaron Dobbs (Wexford), Luke Heeney and Brian Maher (St Patrick’s Athletic) and Edward McGinty (Sligo Rovers).


The two games will be an opportunity for the team to prepare for their upcoming UEFA European Under-19 Championship Elite Round qualifiers against Kosovo, Portugal and Slovakia next month for a place in the finals in Finland this July.


“It’s our last opportunity before the Elite Round to get a look at players,” said Mohan speaking to


“Obviously we are missing a number of players so that opens the door for other lads to come in and stake their claim for a place. Some of the guys have taken the opportunity they’ve been given in pre-season domestically and have done really well.


“Any time you get a squad in you have to make the most of it. Romania topped their group in qualifying, they’ll be tough opponents and that is what you want.


“We want our players tested at the highest level before the Elite Round because it is a very competitive stage and that is exactly what these two games will give us,” he said.


Ireland take on Romania in La Manga Spain on Tuesday, February 13th (kick-off 2pm) and Thursday, February 15th (kick-off 11am).


Republic of Ireland Under-19 Squad

Goalkeepers: Brian Maher (St Patrick's Athletic), Edward McGinty (Sligo Rovers), Rory Brown (Wolverhampton Wanderers)

Defenders: Lee O'Connor (Manchester United), Dara O'Shea (Hereford United - on loan from West Bromwich Albion), James Finnerty (Aston Villa), Callum Cockerill-Mollett (Walsall), Canice Carroll (Oxford United), Callum Nicell (Leeds United), Daniel McKenna (Bray Wanderers - on loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers)

Midfielders: Rian O'Sullivan (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kian Flanagan (Crystal Palace), Cieran Dunne (Falkirk), Owen Wall (Wexford), Rowan Roache (Blackpool), Anthony Scully (West Ham United)

Forwards: Aidan Keena (Queens Park - on loan from Hearts), Matthew Shiels (Rangers), Luke Heeney (St Patrick's Athletic), Aaron Dobbs (Wexford)