Isn't everyone so pleased to get their League of Ireland Licence

Tue, Feb 06 2018

St. Pat's were amongst the 16 clubs to be awarded a Premier Division licence Credit: Martin Doherty


'Drogheda feels like home' for Buckley as he signs for fifth year

Drogheda United have completed the re-signing of defender Lloyd Buckley, who will be eligible for Friday’s First Division league opener ...

Wed, Feb 21 2018

Shamrock Rovers swoop for Sean Kavanagh

Shamrock Rovers have snapped up Sean Kavanagh from under the noses of Derry City ahead of the closing of the ...

Tue, Feb 20 2018

Anthony McAlavey join Cobh Ramblers

Cobh Ramblers have announced the signing of Anthony McAlavey just days before they kick off their 2018 SSE Airtricity League ...

Mon, Feb 19 2018

With the League of Ireland season beginning just next week, the FAI today confirmed that every club has been given a licence to compete in the upcoming league campaigns.


The Independent Club Licensing Committee of the FAI awards the licences with 16 Premier Division and four First Division licences awarded for the 2018 season.


Premier Division
Athlone Town, Bohemians, Bray Wanderers, Cork City, Derry City, Drogheda United, Dundalk, Finn Harps, Galway United, Limerick, Longford Town, Shamrock Rovers, Shelbourne, Sligo Rovers, St Patrick's Athletic and Waterford.


First Division
Cabinteely, Cobh Ramblers, UCD and Wexford FC.


There is a huge amount of work that club officials and volunteers have to put in to develop and finalise their licence so you can excuse maybe the large number of ‘pat on the back’ tweets on the go today. Here is a selection from across the league clubs: