Linfield to kick off Irish Cup defence at home to amateur Glebe Rangers

Tue, Dec 12 2017

Linfield fans. Credit: Jason O'Callaghan


League winner Robbie Williams joins Galway United

Galway United have announced that 33-year-old experienced campaigner Robbie Williams has joined the club on a one-year deal for the ...

Sun, Jan 21 2018

Republic of Ireland internationalist James McCarthy suffers double leg fracture

Ireland international James McCarthy suffered a double leg fracture in yesterday's 1-1 draw against West Bromwich Albion at Goodison Park.

Sun, Jan 21 2018

Leinster Senior Cup Fourth Round Draw

The Leinster Football Association have made the fourth round draw for the 2017/18 Leinster Senior Cup which is the stage ...

Fri, Jan 05 2018

Linfield face the straightforward task of overcoming Glebe Rangers in the fifth round of the 2017/18 Irish Cup as they kick off their title defence next month.


Last season's double winners will welcome the amateur outfit, who play in the Ballymena & Provincial Intermediate League after being relegated from Championship 2, to Windsor Park.


The Ballymoney, Co Antrim-based side ran out 2-1 winners over Annagh United at the beginning of the month to earn their shot against Northern Ireland's most successful club.


Cliftonville will host Warrenpoint Town in one of only two all-Premiership clashes – Carrick Rangers are at home to Glenavon in the other top flight clash.


League leaders Coleraine host Lisburn Distillery while Ballinamallard United will face West Belfast's Immaculata at Ferney Park.


Derry's Maiden City face a trip to in-form Crusaders and Limavady United will fancy their chances on the road against Premiership side Dungannon Swifts.


All ties are set to be played on the weekend of January 6th, 2018.


Irish Cup fifth round draw:


Ards v Crumlin Star

Ballinamallard United v Immaculata

Carrick Rangers v Glenavon

Cliftonville v Warrenpoint Town

Dungannon Swifts v Limavady United

Glebe Rangers v Linfield

Knockbreda v Institute

Larne v Dergview

Lisburn Distillery v Coleraine

Loughgall v PSNI

Lurgan Celtic v Glentoran

Maiden City v Crusaders

Moyola Park v Ballymena United

Newry City v H&W Welders

Queen's University Belfast v Dundela

Portadown v Ballyclare Comrades