Shelbourne goalkeeper Amanda McQuillan called up to Ireland squad to face Scotland

Mon, Jul 03 2017

The Shelbourne keeper made her senior debut in an uncapped game against the Basque Country in Sue Ronan's final game in charge. Credit: Eoin Smith


League Preview: Limerick - v - Shamrock Rovers

Unbeaten in their three games at the Markets Field this season, Limerick are looking jump above Shamrock Rovers in the ...

Sun, Mar 18 2018

O'Neill names final squad for trip to Turkey

Ahead of Friday’s friendly in Turkey, Martin O'Neill has finalised his 25 man Republic of Ireland squad.

Sun, Mar 18 2018

League Report: Cobh Ramblers 0 - 2 Finn Harps

Veteran John O’Flynn set Finn Harps on the road to a 2-0 victory against Cobh Ramblers at a freezing St ...

Sun, Mar 18 2018

Shelbourne goalkeeper Amanda McQuillan has been called up the senior Ireland women's squad to face Scotland in Kirkcaldy next week in place of Emma Byrne.


Brighton & Hove Albion netminder Byrne withdrew from the squad on Monday citing educational commitments, joining injured striker Steph Roche on the list of absentees.


The uncapped McQuillan joins Manchester City's Marie Hourihan and fellow domestic-based keeper, Cork City's Amanda Budden, in the goalkeeping ranks for the trip to Scotland.


The 19-year-old made her senior debut in an uncapped game against the Basque Country last November before being selected by new national team coach Colin Bell for the Cyprus Cup in March.


Kick-off at Stark's Park on Friday is 7.30pm.


Republic of Ireland WNT squad v Scotland


Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (Manchester City), Amanda Budden (Cork City WFC), Amanda McQuillan (Shelbourne Ladies).


Defenders: Harriet Scott (Reading WFC), Sophie Perry (Brighton and Hove Albion), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Louise Quinn (Arsenal Ladies), Niamh Fahey (Chelsea WFC), Megan Campbell (Manchester City).


Midfielders: Karen Duggan (UCD Waves), Denise O’Sullivan (Houston Dash), Megan Connolly (Florida State University), Ruesha Littlejohn (Celtic), Roma McLaughlin (Shelbourne Ladies), Alex Kavanagh (Shelbourne Ladies).


Forwards: Aine O’Gorman (UCD Waves), Dearbhaile Beirne (UCD Waves), Leanne Kiernan (Shelbourne Ladies), Heather Payne (Peamount United), Katie McCabe (Arsenal Ladies).