Continental Tyres Women's National League Awards Announced

Thu, Jan 12 2017

Noelle Murray (centre) one of five Shels players in the team of the year Credit: Michael P Ryan (ETPhotos)

It was definitely a lovely day for a Guinness for Shelbourne as the club saw two of its players take the top playing awards at the 2016 Continental Tyres Women’s National League Awards held at the Guinness Storehouse in Dublin on Thursday.


Noelle Murray was named Senior Player of the Year at the awards, fending off tough competition from teammate Leanne Kiernan and UCD Waves (and last year’s winner) Karen Duggan. Murray had a fantastic season as she helped Shels claim their first League and Cup double.


Kiernan may have lost out to Murray for the senior award, but the 17-year-old secured the Young Player of the Year award after a superb season which culminating in her netting a hat-trick in the Women’s Senior Cup Final at the Aviva Stadium.


On the international front, Kiernan scored six of the 14 Republic of Ireland goals for the Under 19 team that stormed through their qualifying group with wins over Macedonia, Wales and Italy.


Peamount United striker Amber Barrett became the fourth player to receive the Women’s National League Golden Boot award joining a distinguished group of players (Stephanie Roche, Sara Lawlor and Aine O’Gorman0. Her 16 goal tally enabled her team finish in third place in the Women’s National League.


After receiving the award, Murray credited the Shelbourne squad and staff for a fantastic season, and believes the club can push on in the UEFA Women’s Champions League next season.


 “It’s a great feeling to be named Senior Player of the Year and delighted to pick up the award,” said Murray.


“It’s definitely the best moment of my career so far and it’s been a great year for me with this fantastic Shelbourne team. I couldn’t have done it without them so a big thanks has to go to all my team-mates and staff.


“The youth the football club has produced and is currently producing is unbelievable. I’m sure Shelbourne will continue to grow from strength to strength in the Champions League next season.”


The Continental Tyres Women’s National League Team of the Year also received their awards which included five Shelbourne players as well as three from UCD Waves, Amber Barrett and Roma McLaughlin from Peamount United and Chloe Moloney from Galway WFC.


The full Continental Tyres Women’s National League Team of the Year is as follows:

Amanda McQuillan (Shelbourne Ladies),

Jetta Berrill (UCD Waves),

Pearl Slattery (Shelbourne Ladies),

Chloe Moloney (Galway WFC),

Niamh Prior (UCD Waves),

Karen Duggan (UCD Waves),

Roma McLaughlin (Peamount United),

Noelle Murray (Shelbourne Ladies),

Leanne Kiernan (Shelbourne Ladies),

Amber Barrett (Peamount United),

Siobhan Killeen (Shelbourne Ladies).


Senior Player of the Year Noelle Murray



Young Player of the Year Leanne Kiernan